Day 3 - Reisverslag uit Itaúna, Brazilië van Michelle Keijzers - WaarBenJij.nu Day 3 - Reisverslag uit Itaúna, Brazilië van Michelle Keijzers - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 3

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Michelle

23 April 2014 | Brazilië, Itaúna

Boa noite! Today was a relaxing day apart from the evening. This morning I tried to sleep a bit longer to get in a good rhythm, but it's very hard to sleep when you're wide awake. The rest of the morning I relaxed and watched some tv with Livia. In the afternoon me and Jeffry drove to another part of town where their new apartment is (still being) built. Then, until 16:30, I read Lord of The Flies for IB. I love reading, but I think my fellow students agree with my opinion about the book: it's somnolent! (50 cent words right). At 16:30 me and Jeffry drove to school (Wizard) for my talk with the coordenator Tharlis Magno. I told him about the 'assignment' or actually reason why I am here and what I expect from my time here. I also told him about my travel history and my ability of speaking (or partly speaking) different languages such as Dutch, English, French and German. He was very impressed that I, at such a young age, dared to travel this far and that i'm able to speak (or partly speak) 4 languages. He is very happy with having me at the school for a week or so, because he's sure i'm going to inspire and motivate other students. I hope I can make these words true! Me, Tharlis and Jeffry made a time schedule for me, of which I will show the hours made in a day at the end of every story. All together I will have 35 hours of work, in which I don't count my speeches. Yes, I am going to speech 2 times this thursday for a group of people, Tharlis asked me to tell them what I told him to inspire the students, no problem! So what i'm actually going to do is observe in class, have conversations with students of English, French and German, and let the students ask questions to me. The students vary from adults to teens to the little 5 year olds.
This evening I first met almost all teachers and other people who work at the wizard school of languages, they were really nice to me and made me feel welcome! Douglas, co-coordenator, came to me and gave me a special treat, looking like doughnuts and said he 'thought about me when eating it and he had to let me taste it so he could give me more', such a sweet man who wants to get me fat! Haha it was muito delicia.
The first course I followed was English from Fernanda, she teaches a group who just started. It was really nice to see again how we all started with English. Only, I have to say, I would have made the lesson more interactive. The way they worked was Fernanda saying a sentence in portugese, the group all together translated it out loud or they read it from a book. Imthink it was too literal to actually learn speaking a language. The 2 hours after that I went to Jeffry's course of German. I talked in a mix of German and English with Rodrigo, which was very good for him because he's really affraid of speaking to foreign people, I hope it helped him a bit!
That was it for today. I'm now going to watch world war Z with Hugo and Jeffry and tomorrow I start at 08:30.

Goodnight!

18:00-19:00 English
19:00-21:00 German

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Michelle

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 222
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5381

Voorgaande reizen:

19 April 2014 - 04 Mei 2014

Stage Brazilië

Landen bezocht: